2nd Annual MALCON Capture The Flag (CTF) Competition

The 2nd Annual Capture The Flag Competition will be held as part of the 10th International Conference on Malicious and Unwanted Software (Malware 2015) at the at Waldorf Astoria El Conquistador Resort, Fajardo, Puerto Rico, USA on October 22nd, 2015.

To Register for the Contest Click Here

Be a part of the 2nd annual offense-only CTF event!  Cash prizes of $1000 for the Grand Prize, $250 for 1st place, and $150 for 2nd place, will be awarded as well as a certificate of completion.  The CTF round will take place on October 22nd at El Conquistador Hotel in Fajardo, Puerto Rico.  Team registration is required to participate in the CTF.  Teams up to 4 persons will pay $250 to play at the hotel including breakfast, lunch, and snacks.  Teams playing remotely will pay $150.00 (Click Here to Register). We encourage teams based in Puerto Rico to participate at the hotel. 

The MalCon CTF is designed to reflect real life scenarios faced by security professionals when deployed in the field.  In this offense-only event, the team’s job is to penetrate several layers of a system and collect flags for points along the way.  Our CTF tech team consists of active security professionals with several years’ experience in on and off site penetration testing.  Their experience, expertise, and know how are leveraged to create a fun CTF that is technically challenging and realistic.

Quick Facts:


What: 2015 Malcon CTF

When: October 22nd 2015, 9am – 6pm

Where: El Conquistador Hotel Fajardo Puerto Rico, teams can play on site and remote.


Registration requirements:

Fee: $250 play onsite (per 4 member team), $150 play remote.

Email: 1 official team contact email

IP addresses: list of IP addresses teams will play from, maximum 7 addresses per team.

Register at: http://www.malwareconference.org

Email questions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Grand prize is only rewarded to a team after capturing all the flags.  One team can only receive one prize.  If a team receives the grand prize they will not also receive the 1st place prize.  If multiple teams capture all the flags, the grand prize will be awarded to the team that captured all the flags in the shortest amount of time.

The 2nd Annual MalCon CTF is part of the 2015 IEEE Malware Conference (www.malwareconference.org) and is sponsored by Microsoft.

Prof. Vern Paxson to serve as Keynote for the Malware Conference

The organizing committee of the Malware Conference is delighted to announce that for its 10th year anniversary Prof. Vern Paxson, from the University of California at Berkeley, will serve as our Keynote speaker. Dr. Paxson is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and a well know and highly respected researcher in the fields of Internet measurement and Internet security. Vern will be sharing with us his perspective on Broad Spectrum Attacks, what is to be expected in the future, and some new work that his research organization is currently pursuing.


Prof. Vern Paxson Biography


Vern Paxson is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley. He also leads the Networking
and Security Group at the International Computer Science Institute in Berkeley. His research focuses heavily on measurement-based analysis of
network activity and Internet attacks. He has worked extensively on high performance network monitoring and on cybercrime, and co-directs the Center for Evidence-based Security Research (www.evidencebasedsecurity.org).


In 2006 Paxson was inducted as a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communications (SIGCOMM) gave Paxson its 2011 award, "for his seminal contributions to the fields of Internet measurement and Internet security, and for distinguished leadership and service to the Internet community." The annual SIGCOMM Award recognizes lifetime contribution to the field of communication networks.


He is also a recipient of the ACM's Grace Murray Hopper Award, and the 2015 IEEE Internet Award.