Malware Conference News

Malware 2018 Best Paper Award

Malware 2018
Best Paper Award - Research Track

Presented to

William Fleshman, Richard Zak and Mark McLean

Laboratory for Physical Sciences, USA


Edward Raff and Charles Nicholas

Booz Allen Hamilton and

University of Maryland, Baltimore County, USA


In recognition to their contributions to the Field of Information and Systems Security

and the quality and timeliness of their work as embodied in the manuscript:


“Static Malware Detection & Subterfuge: Quantifying the Robustness of Machine Learning and Current Anti-Viruscalable Encryption Fingerprinting in Dynamic Malware Trace" 

Read More

Login Form

Prof. Vern Paxson to serve as Keynote for the Malware Conference

The organizing committee of the Malware Conference is delighted to announce that for its 10th year anniversary Prof. Vern Paxson, from the University of California at Berkeley, will serve as our Keynote speaker. Dr. Paxson is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), and a well know and highly respected researcher in the fields of Internet measurement and Internet security. Vern will be sharing with us his perspective on Broad Spectrum Attacks, what is to be expected in the future, and some new work that his research organization is currently pursuing.


Prof. Vern Paxson Biography


Vern Paxson is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley. He also leads the Networking
and Security Group at the International Computer Science Institute in Berkeley. His research focuses heavily on measurement-based analysis of
network activity and Internet attacks. He has worked extensively on high performance network monitoring and on cybercrime, and co-directs the Center for Evidence-based Security Research (www.evidencebasedsecurity.org).


In 2006 Paxson was inducted as a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). The ACM's Special Interest Group on Data Communications (SIGCOMM) gave Paxson its 2011 award, "for his seminal contributions to the fields of Internet measurement and Internet security, and for distinguished leadership and service to the Internet community." The annual SIGCOMM Award recognizes lifetime contribution to the field of communication networks.


He is also a recipient of the ACM's Grace Murray Hopper Award, and the 2015 IEEE Internet Award.